Bolton Wanderers Football Club Fan Forum for all BWFC Supporters.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Bolton Nuts » BWFC » Bolton Wanderers Development Section » Ex-Liverpool striker one of 10 new scholars added at Bolton Wanderers

Ex-Liverpool striker one of 10 new scholars added at Bolton Wanderers

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]


Nat Lofthouse
Nat Lofthouse
Wanderers have announced a new intake of scholars for the 2020/21 season.

New academy manager Mark Litherland has revealed that 10 new players will be brought in for the campaign, including ex-Liverpool and Bury striker Bright Amoateng, who has scored a couple of goals for Wanderers already in pre-season.

The 17-year-old will come to Bolton as a first-year scholar following a successful trial period.

“I’d like to welcome to Bolton Wanderers Football Club Bright Amoateng, Joseph Brown, Maxwell Conway, Mitchell Henry, Ellis Litherland, Arran Pettifer, Jack Thompson, Lamine Toure, Matthew Tweedley and Max Wilcox who will join the seven second-year scholars we already have: Markus Assarsson, Ryan Colvin, Jay Fitzmartin, Luke Hutchinson, Finlay Lockett, Regan Riley and Nathan Whalley.

“Two vital components for academy players to progress into the first team environment are now established.

“First of all, Ian Evatt, the head coach, wholeheartedly buys into youth development. He has been fantastic with the scholars in the short time we’ve been back training and he has demonstrated that he’s pro youth and would be willing to give the players an opportunity.

“Secondly, under the guidance of the head of football operations, Tobias Phoenix, the club has designed a clear and defined player pathway.

“These two components are vital in getting academy players into the first team.

“Our players are in a privileged position representing Bolton and with privilege comes responsibility.

“It’s important our players are relentless in the pursuit of excellence and it’s our responsibility to make sure we prepare our scholars over the four corner model so when they get the call up, they are ready.”

First Year Scholars

Bright Amoateng – Centre Forward

Joseph Brown – Defender

Maxwell Conway – Midfielder

Mitchell Henry – Centre Forward

Ellis Litherland - Goalkeeper

Arran Pettifer - Midfielder

Jack Thompson - Defender

Lamine Toure – Defender

Mathew Tweedley - Midfielder

Max Wilcox - Midfielder

Second Year Scholars

Markus Assarsson - Midfielder

Ryan Colvin - Defender

Jay Fitzmartin - Midfielder

Luke Hutchinson - Goalkeeper

Finlay Lockett - Midfielder

Regan Riley - Midfielder

Nathan Whalley – Defender


Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum