Bolton Wanderers Football Club Fan Forum for all BWFC Supporters.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Norwich manager Daniel Farke sent off and angered by Bolton time-wasting

4 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Sluffy

Sluffy
Admin

DANIEL Farke has apologised for his behaviour after getting sent to the stands in the final few moments of Wanderers’ 0-0 draw with Norwich City.
The German coach was sent off by referee Keith Stroud for kicking the ball away after a foul throw was given against midfielder Moritz Leitner in injury time.
Farke claims he had been frustrated by Wanderers’ time-wasting tactics, causing him to take a “heavy touch” of the ball when it rolled towards him.
“Yes, it was probably a sending off and that is the first time in my career,” he said. “I am not a lawyer. I don’t think about the rules. I am a coach for 11 years and one bad touch after 96 minutes is punished.

“Even when players put the ball away they do not always get a yellow card.
“I don’t think it was so bad that I have to be banned for one game but I am not an expert of the rules. It was my mistake. It won’t happen again.
“The ref came and said, ‘Daniel, I can totally understand the frustration but if the linesman gives this decision I have to go with him. Your touch was not good.’ “I got the feeling I was very involved in this game. About seven or eight times when Bolton kicked the ball over the line I had to get the ball.
“Normally my technique was very good but in that moment it was not good enough. The first touch was a little bit too tough. The ball went back on the pitch. I can only apologise. It was my mistake.

“Listen, I got the feeling Bolton were wasting time in so many situations. Every free kick we had they were putting the ball away and no-one spoke to them about this topic.
“We get a throw in the 95th minute or whatever and the linesman, who is 30 yards away, was able to watch that Moritz Leitner was standing with his foot over the line.